libauxv.git
4 years agoFix manpages issues master
Frederic Bonnard [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 11:03:29 +0000 (13:03 +0200)]
Fix manpages issues

Those were found by lintian package checker after debian package was done.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Bonnard <frediz@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
4 years agoRefresh of configuration files
Carlos Eduardo Seo [Wed, 3 Feb 2016 17:34:32 +0000 (15:34 -0200)]
Refresh of configuration files

Refreshed files to reflect changes to configure.ac.

Signed-off-by: Carlos Eduardo Seo <cseo@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
4 years agoChange of maintainership.
Carlos Eduardo Seo [Fri, 29 Jan 2016 18:47:36 +0000 (16:47 -0200)]
Change of maintainership.

Updated configure and manpages to reflect change of maintainership.

Signed-off by Carlos Eduardo Seo <cseo@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

4 years agoUpdated CONTRIBUTORS with new maintainers.
Carlos Eduardo Seo [Fri, 29 Jan 2016 18:37:50 +0000 (16:37 -0200)]
Updated CONTRIBUTORS with new maintainers.

Added myself and Raphael Zinsly as the new library maintainers.

Signed-off by Carlos Eduardo Seo <cseo@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

4 years agoMake GCC-4.5 the minimum version for building libauxv.
Carlos Eduardo Seo [Mon, 30 Nov 2015 18:54:52 +0000 (13:54 -0500)]
Make GCC-4.5 the minimum version for building libauxv.

The recent deprecation of libauxv APIs caused a build failure with old
compilers. This patch adds a new minimum gcc version requirement.

Signed-off by Carlos Eduardo Seo <cseo@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

4 years agoDeprecate public functions.
Carlos Eduardo Seo [Wed, 28 Oct 2015 19:26:43 +0000 (17:26 -0200)]
Deprecate public functions.

Since glibc now provides a public function to query the auxiliary vector, this
library is no longer needed. All public functions are now marked as deprecated
so current users have time to make the transition to glibc's getauxval ().

* README: Added a warning about deprecated functions.
* README.md: Likewise.
* man/auxv3: Likewise.
* man/lsauxv.1: Likewise.
* src/auxv/auxv.h: Mark all public functions as deprecated.
(prefetch_auxv): Marked as deprecated.
(get_auxv): Likewise.
(query_auxv): Likewise.

Signed-off-by: Carlos Eduardo Seo <cseo@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
4 years agoSync hwcap table with kernel
Paul E. Murphy [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 21:00:24 +0000 (16:00 -0500)]
Sync hwcap table with kernel

The kernel recently added support for aborting transactions
when entering a syscall. This support can be identified via
the HWCAP2 bits.

4 years agoMerge branch 'rpm' of git://github.com/gftg85/libauxv into gftg85-rpm
Carlos Eduardo Seo [Wed, 19 Aug 2015 18:18:27 +0000 (15:18 -0300)]
Merge branch 'rpm' of git://github.com/gftg85/libauxv into gftg85-rpm

4 years agoCleaning ChangeLog.md
Frederic Bonnard [Mon, 3 Aug 2015 14:26:34 +0000 (16:26 +0200)]
Cleaning ChangeLog.md

When cleaning the source tree, this file is remaining and we don't revert to the
exact initial source tree.

4 years agoChange package name from auxv to libauxv release_1.1.0
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Mon, 3 Aug 2015 14:17:39 +0000 (11:17 -0300)]
Change package name from auxv to libauxv

4 years agoRelease 1.1.0 9/head
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Wed, 29 Jul 2015 17:53:08 +0000 (14:53 -0300)]
Release 1.1.0

This patch updates version and contact information.

Notice that since there have been changes to the code of the library
(src/hwcap.h) a *revision* bump of the library version-info is required [1].
Moreover, since there has been no changes to the interface, i.e.: programs
linked with the previous version do not need to be recompiled nor relinked,
there is no need to update the *current* and *age* fields of the library
version-info.

Since we want to keep the library and package version identical, we update the
package version to 1.1.0.

[1] http://www.gnu.org/software/libtool/manual/html_node/Updating-version-info.html#Updating-version-info

4 years agoMerge branch 'pmur-release-improvements'
Paul E. Murphy [Fri, 10 Jul 2015 17:56:33 +0000 (12:56 -0500)]
Merge branch 'pmur-release-improvements'

4 years agoAdd release script 7/head
Paul E. Murphy [Tue, 7 Jul 2015 18:30:12 +0000 (14:30 -0400)]
Add release script

This script runs the commands necessary to generate a source
tarball and checksums to validate it.

Signed-off-by: Paul E. Murphy <murphyp@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
4 years agoGenerate ChangeLog dynamically
Paul E. Murphy [Tue, 7 Jul 2015 21:18:56 +0000 (17:18 -0400)]
Generate ChangeLog dynamically

Autotooling has been refreshed with these changes.

Signed-off-by: Paul E. Murphy <murphyp@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
4 years agoAdd devel package 6/head
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Thu, 18 Jun 2015 19:11:46 +0000 (16:11 -0300)]
Add devel package

4 years agoAdd rpm spec file
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Wed, 3 Jun 2015 17:03:10 +0000 (14:03 -0300)]
Add rpm spec file

Instructions

Create a source tarball, e.g.:
  ./configure
  make
  make dist

Copy the source tarball to rpm/SOURCES, e.g.:
  mkdir rpm/SOURCES/
  cp auxv-1.0.0.tar.gz rpm/SOURCES

Run rpmbuild with _topdir set to rpm, e.g.:
  rpmbuild --define '_topdir /path/to/current/dir/rpm' -ba rpm/SPECS/auxv.spec

5 years agoFixes dependency on libpthread 5/head
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Wed, 27 May 2015 11:46:18 +0000 (08:46 -0300)]
Fixes dependency on libpthread

The flag -lpthread was being passed to the linking step of the lsauxv binary
generation, however such binary does not use any of symbols provided by
pthread, as pointed out by dpkg-shlibdeps:

  dpkg-shlibdeps: warning: package could avoid a useless dependency if
  debian/libauxv/usr/bin/lsauxv was not linked against libpthread.so.0 (it uses
  none of the library's symbols).

On the other hand, the same flag [-lpthread] was not being passed to the
linking step of the libauxv.so generation. However, it should have, since
libauxv uses the symbol pthread_once, as pointed out by dpkg-shlibdeps:

  dpkg-shlibdeps: warning: symbol pthread_once used by
  debian/libauxv/usr/lib/powerpc64le-linux-gnu/libauxv-1.0.0.so found in none
  of the libraries.

5 years agoRe-inserts autotools generated files
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Mon, 25 May 2015 20:23:03 +0000 (17:23 -0300)]
Re-inserts autotools generated files

The files added by this commit are automatically generated by autoconf,
automake, and libtool. They have been (re-)added to the version control, since
this project is expected to be buildable from fresh clones of the git
repository in machines that do not have the autotools installed.

5 years agoRe-enables the use of the --with-headers switch
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Tue, 12 May 2015 18:22:59 +0000 (15:22 -0300)]
Re-enables the use of the --with-headers switch

When converting the project to automake and libtool, the --with-headers switch
had been temporarily disabled. This commit re-enables it.

5 years agoFixes make distcheck error
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Wed, 13 May 2015 10:36:13 +0000 (07:36 -0300)]
Fixes make distcheck error

5 years agoIgnores autotools log and cache files
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Tue, 5 May 2015 13:37:14 +0000 (10:37 -0300)]
Ignores autotools log and cache files

5 years agoRe-enables tests with make check
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Wed, 13 May 2015 10:39:38 +0000 (07:39 -0300)]
Re-enables tests with make check

When converting the project to automake and libtool, the tests had been
temporarily disabled. This commit adds a new Makefile.am file, which re-enables
tests on libauxv.

5 years agoRe-enables man pages installation
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Tue, 5 May 2015 17:36:19 +0000 (14:36 -0300)]
Re-enables man pages installation

When converting this project to automake and libtool, the installation of the
man pages had been temporarily disabled. This commit re-enables it.

5 years agoRemoves options automatically provided by libtool
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Thu, 7 May 2015 13:09:12 +0000 (10:09 -0300)]
Removes options automatically provided by libtool

The options --enable-shared and --enable-static, as well as their disable
counterparts, are automatically provided by libtool. Therefore there is no need
to explicitly add them in configure.ac.

5 years agoConverts project to use automake and libtool
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Tue, 5 May 2015 12:51:17 +0000 (09:51 -0300)]
Converts project to use automake and libtool

This commit introduces the use of automake and libtool on libauxv.

A new set of Makefile.am files is now provided for automake and libtool.

A bootstrap script is also provided. Therefore, automatically generated files,
such as configure, should never be included in the version control system.

The source files: src/auxv.c and src/lsauxv.c have been modified because the
header files have been moved into their distribution directory: include/auxv/

5 years agoPrepares directory structure for automake
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Sun, 10 May 2015 22:09:21 +0000 (19:09 -0300)]
Prepares directory structure for automake

NOTE: This commit only moves files. It does not modify its contents!

The following files have been deleted, because they will be automatically
generated by autoconf and automake:
  Makefile.in
  config.h
  config.in
  configure

The file autoscan.log has also been deleted and added to the .gitignore list.

The source and header files, man pages, and tests have been moved to their own
subdirectories, as recommended by the autotools manual.

5 years agoStop using ldconfig to create symbolic links
Gabriel F. T. Gomes [Wed, 29 Apr 2015 14:56:20 +0000 (11:56 -0300)]
Stop using ldconfig to create symbolic links

Remove all references to ldconfig during the creation of symbolic links
to the shared libraries and use 'ln -s' instead.
ldconfig isn't available for general usage during a cross compilation,
causing errors.

This commit fixes #4

5 years agoRemove output files from source repository
Rajalakshmi Srinivasaraghavan [Wed, 1 Apr 2015 05:17:39 +0000 (00:17 -0500)]
Remove output files from source repository

This patch deletes config.log and config.status from source tree
and creates .gitignore with these file names added in it.

2015-04-01 Rajalakshmi Srinivasaraghavan  <raji@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

* config.log: Delete file.
* config.status: Delete file.
* .gitignore: New file.

5 years agoAllow building from the source code directory
Tulio Magno Quites Machado Filho [Wed, 25 Mar 2015 13:28:51 +0000 (10:28 -0300)]
Allow building from the source code directory

Remove the code that prevented building from the source code directory.
Regenerate configure.

5 years agoRemoval of a special character
Raphael Moreira Zinsly [Thu, 8 Jan 2015 18:26:44 +0000 (16:26 -0200)]
Removal of a special character

The special character ” was being used when sysheaders was not setted.
This character cause trouble on some systems.
This patch removes it since the use of the character do not affect the
library, it was possibly a typo.

5 years agolibauxv: Add at_hwcap2 V.CRYPTO capability
Adhemerval Zanella [Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:33:21 +0000 (09:33 -0500)]
libauxv: Add at_hwcap2 V.CRYPTO capability

6 years agolibauxv: Add support to hwcap2 to lsauxv
Adhemerval Zanella [Tue, 27 May 2014 14:33:44 +0000 (09:33 -0500)]
libauxv: Add support to hwcap2 to lsauxv

6 years agolibauxv: Fix test_auxv_[fallback]_shared link order
Adhemerval Zanella [Tue, 27 May 2014 14:26:40 +0000 (09:26 -0500)]
libauxv: Fix test_auxv_[fallback]_shared link order

This patch fixes the linker order to move the libraries to end of the command
line.

6 years agoFew additional changes release_1.0.0
Juvenal A. Silva Jr [Wed, 11 Sep 2013 13:20:09 +0000 (10:20 -0300)]
Few additional changes

- Pushed release number to 1.0
- Added markdown initial README file
- Update CONTRIBUTORS list

6 years ago2013-08-08 Juvenal A. Silva Jr. <juvenal@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Juvenal A. Silva Jr [Thu, 8 Aug 2013 19:23:56 +0000 (16:23 -0300)]
2013-08-08 Juvenal A. Silva Jr. <juvenal@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

* include/hwcap.h: reformatted AT_HWCAP to max 79 columns and added
AT_HWCAP2 new values
* test_auxv.c: added checks for AT_HWCAP2 defines on PowerPC

8 years ago2011-09-15 Ryan S. Arnold <rsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Thu, 15 Sep 2011 16:23:45 +0000 (16:23 +0000)]
2011-09-15  Ryan S. Arnold  <rsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

* CCLA.txt: Updated mailing list addr.
* ICLA.txt: Likewise.

8 years ago2011-08-25 Ryan S. Arnold <rsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 12:34:51 +0000 (12:34 +0000)]
2011-08-25  Ryan S. Arnold  <rsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

* ChangeLog: Updated.

8 years ago2011-08-25 Ryan S. Arnold <rsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 12:33:06 +0000 (12:33 +0000)]
2011-08-25  Ryan S. Arnold  <rsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

* configure: Regenerated for libauxv 0.1.0.
* config.h.in: Likewise.

8 years ago2011-07-21 Tulio Magno Quites Machado Filho <tuliom@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Thu, 21 Jul 2011 19:13:01 +0000 (19:13 +0000)]
2011-07-21  Tulio Magno Quites Machado Filho <tuliom@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

* configure: Regenerated for version 0.1.0.
* Makefile.in: Added static library build and testcase.
* README: Added --enable-static.
* configure.ac: Updated to version 0.1.0 and added RANLIB export.

9 years ago2011-03-30 Ryan S. Arnold <rsa@us.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Wed, 30 Mar 2011 22:49:09 +0000 (22:49 +0000)]
2011-03-30  Ryan S. Arnold  <rsa@us.ibm.com>

* man/auxv.3 (RATIONALE): Added new section with information from
the README.

9 years ago2011-03-30 Ryan S. Arnold <rsa@us.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Wed, 30 Mar 2011 22:28:26 +0000 (22:28 +0000)]
2011-03-30  Ryan S. Arnold  <rsa@us.ibm.com>

* README: Updated sections on Dependencies, GNU/Linux OS, GLIBC
Minimum Version, Configuration, Make Rules, and Use.
* test_auxv.c (main): 'long' variables changed to 'unsigned long int'.
Updated printf of hwcap to print leading zeros based on sizeof
unsigned long int.
* man/auxv.3 (EXAMPLES): Add example code which shows how to use all of
the interfaces.  Add additional information on auxv/hwcap.h.
(RETURN VALUES): Added return value description from prefetch_auxv().
(SYNOPSIS): Added hwcap.h to synopsis.
(DEPENDENCIES): Added information on libpthread dependency.
(FILES): Added auxv/hwcap.h to the files list.

9 years ago2011-03-20 Ryan S. Arnold <rsa@us.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Wed, 30 Mar 2011 17:41:25 +0000 (17:41 +0000)]
2011-03-20  Ryan S. Arnold  <rsa@us.ibm.com>

* Makefile.in (install): Install lsauxv.1 into $(inst_mandir)/man1/
and auxv.3 into man3/ rather than $(inst_mandir).  Create libauxv.3
symlink to auxv.3.
(uninstall): Remove $(inst_mandir)/man1/lsauxv.1 and
$(inst_mandir)/man3/auxv.3.  Remove libauxv.3 symlink.

9 years ago2011-02-03 Ryan S. Arnold <rsa@us.ibm.com>
Ryan S. Arnold [Thu, 3 Feb 2011 19:24:42 +0000 (19:24 +0000)]
2011-02-03  Ryan S. Arnold  <rsa@us.ibm.com>

* CCLA.txt: Added to repository.
* CONTRIBUTORS: Added to repository.
* COPYING.txt: Added to repository.
* ChangeLog: Added to repository.
* GFDLv1.3.txt: Added to repository.
* ICLA.txt: Added to repository.
* Makefile.in: Added to repository.
* README: Added to repository.
* autoscan.log: Added to repository.
* auxv.c: Added to repository.
* auxv.map: Added to repository.
* auxv_test.map: Added to repository.
* config.h: Added to repository.
* config.h.in: Added to repository.
* config.log: Added to repository.
* config.status: Added to repository.
* configure: Added to repository.
* configure.ac: Added to repository.
* include: Added to repository.
* include/auxv.h: Added to repository.
* include/hwcap.h: Added to repository.
* lsauxv.c: Added to repository.
* man: Added to repository.
* man/lsauxv.1: Added to repository.
* man/auxv.3: Added to repository.
* test_auxv.c: Added to repository.
* test_auxv_fallback.c: Added to repository.

9 years agoAdded bare libauxv directory.
Ryan S. Arnold [Thu, 3 Feb 2011 19:15:31 +0000 (19:15 +0000)]
Added bare libauxv directory.